TIACA’s 3rd Air Cargo Sustainability Awards: Apply now! – PART 2

From now until 15AUG21, companies and initiatives can put forward their solutions for a more sustainable air cargo industry, and hand in their application to be considered for TIACA’s Air
Cargo Sustainability Award, and the chance to win $10,000.

What began in 2019, gathered speed in 2020 despite the adverse circumstances,  will also continue in 2021: the third edition of TIACA’s Air Cargo Sustainability Awards. Business and industry
initiatives targeted at improving air cargo industry sustainability in various categories have the chance of winning a main prize of $10,000 or one of two runner . This time, it is hoped, with a
physical award ceremony again, planned to be held at the Executive Summit in San Francisco, USA, 21-24SEP21.

The call for applications went out on 30MAR21 with a statement by the ongoing sponsor of the Awards, CHAMP Cargosystems. CEO, Chris McDermott, said: “We are delighted to be supporting the
TIACA Sustainability Awards for the third consecutive year. In the current climate it is particularly important to look for opportunities to support more efficient business practices and to
promote the sustainability agenda. If history teaches us anything, it is that in challenging times innovative ideas emerge. We therefore look forward to this year’s applications to see the range
of pioneering solutions that are proposed to help the air cargo industry in a way that is supportive of our planet.

Champ Cargo Systems is the main sponsor of the TIACA Sustainability Awards. Pictured here is CHAMP CEO Chris McDermott – company courtesy
Champ Cargo Systems is the main sponsor of the TIACA Sustainability Awards. Pictured here is CHAMP CEO Chris McDermott – company courtesy

Sustainability is more than just a green environment
TIACA is very clear on the fact that Sustainability goes beyond the immediate environmental connections and draws attention to the UN SDGs. Entries can therefore reflect any of the following:


  • supporting social welfare (people development, social programs, equal opportunities)
  • economic development (business efficiency, optimization, trade development)
  • environmental impact (green logistics, reduced carbon footprint)
  • innovation (technology, automation, AI, data, unmanned vehicles, ULDs)
  • partnership (uniting the industry, common achievements, building back better together)

The awards will be split into two categories of leadership in sustainability:

  • The Corporate Prize: recognizing an established corporation, international organization, or scholar with a long-standing presence in the cargo community.
  • The Start-Up and Small Business Prize: recognition for young and growing, as well as small businesses building their presence in air cargo industry. The winner will receive $10,000, and two
    runners-up will each receive $2,500. The prize money is intended to encourage and support those initiatives in their development.

All shortlisted candidates will also be recognized with access to exclusive TIACA events and speaking opportunities, publicity in TIACA’s communication and networking

The industry needs innovative solutions and agility
Steven Polmans, Chairman, TIACA, summarized: “More than ever our industry finds itself developing innovative solutions to deal with crises that we face every day in our businesses. I am proud
to say that our industry has responded enthusiastically to the challenges we have been presented. We hope that by launching this year’s award we will encourage industry leaders to find and opt
for sustainable solutions as we push our industry further into the future. We want to recognize those that continue to inspire a more sustainable air cargo industry, in turn making our industry
more resilient.

What happens with the application?
All applications are judged by a panel of independent industry and sustainability experts, who determine three finalists in each category. Those award finalists will then be invited to present
their solutions at the Executive Summit in San Francisco, USA, which is planned as a physical event from 21-24SEP21. Normally, the audience is then requested to vote for the favorite in each
category, and the awards are then presented in an evening ceremony. All details on the application requirements are available on https://tiaca.org/awards/ Good luck! CFG looks forward to
reporting on the winners!

Brigitte Gledhill

We always welcome your comments to our articles. However, we can only publish them when the sender name is authentic.


Source: Cargoforwarder

Be the first to comment on "TIACA’s 3rd Air Cargo Sustainability Awards: Apply now! – PART 2"

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *